Hebrew Root

                        The Root of Our Faith

 Plant a Tree
 in Israel

What's New?

Updated 11/16/10

Who We Are


Our Mission

Ministry Info

Email Us




Articles (new)




Blog (reguarly updated)

Podcast (link) (new)

Bookstore (link) (new)


Other Resources



Prayer Requests







Messianic Judaism 101 - Torah

In its most limited sense, "Torah" refers to the Five Books of Moses: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. But the word "torah" can also be used to refer to the entire Jewish bible (the body of scripture known to non-Jews as the Old Testament and to Jews as the Tanakh or Written Torah), or in its broadest sense, to the whole body of Jewish law and teachings.

Written Torah

To non-Messianic Jews, there is no "Old Testament." The books that Messianic Believers Jews & Christians call the New Testament (B'rit Hadasha) are not part of non-Messianic Jewish scripture. The Old Testament is known to Messianic Believers & Jews as Written Torah or the Tanakh.

 The Hebrew names of the first five books are derived from the first few words of the book. The text of each book is much the same in Jewish translations as  in Christian bibles, although there are some occasional, slight differences in the numbering of verses and there are a few significant differences in the translations.

TORAH (The Law):
Hebrew Name Meaning Name in Christian Bible
Bereishith In the beginning.. Genesis
Shemoth The names.. Exodus
Vayiqra And He called.. Leviticus
Bamidbar In the wilderness... Numbers
Devarim The words.. Deuteronomy

 Want to help Restore the Hebrew Root?

All donations are Tax deductible